About

My name is Miriam Saphra. I’m in my second semester of LIS at Queens, having graduated with a Bachelor’s in English Literature from Lehman College. I went to Westchester Community College before that and walked out with an Associate degree in Music Performance. I still play a mean jazz flute solo.

I was raised by feral hippies with interesting ideas about childrearing, like no soda junk food or or television. Because of this I read. A lot. Anything I could get my hands on. I devoured books (sometimes literally – it’s a long story). I did things like hide under covers with a flashlight after bedtime and smuggled books to school in my winter jacket after my teachers complained about me reading during class. Comic books came along later, after I was carefully allowed to watch the X-Men movie and then set loose inside a Barnes&Noble.

I spent a decade or so teenagering very, very hard (nobody understands my paaaaaaaaain) and then another decade muddling along in higher education. About seven years into a four-year degree, I managed to figure out what everyone around me already knew and realized that I desperately wanted to work in a library, with books and people who wanted books. I stopped failing classes and graduated and then came here.

Nowadays I work odd jobs, mostly with kids, and continue to read a lot. I read and follow a number of online comics (ask me for recommendations!). The hippies who raised me are now old and have multiple televisions and wear brand-name clothing. The wheel turns.

I’m looking forward to this class because COMIC BOOKS.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment